13

I was one of those who voted to delete the question. I saw it first when it was already on hold, and if I had seen it before, I would probably be one of the close-voters too. Yes, you could very well say I did not like the question. But it is one thing to dislike something because it is pointless and quite another if it is potentially harmful. Why would I ...


7

Clear the migration history and let the community decide A moderator can prevent the Q & A from being auto-deleted by clearing the migration history. This would make it appear as if the migration never happened; in other words, a regular question asked directly on this site in the first place. The question would be unlocked but still closed, and no ...


7

If you sort the closed questions (link in question) by votes and jump to the last page you can look at the worst of the worst. If you wrote an existing answer example for -7 question just delete your answer and the question should auto purge. The example above has been deleted; for users less than 10k rep, this is what it looked like: If you didn't ...


6

You weren't able to delete your question: How to execute the following commands at once in ubuntu using postgresql? (original title) ...because you are using a cookie-based (unregistered) account. This is explained in the Stack Exchange FAQ: Why should I register my account? ...the site prevents unregistered users from deleting their own posts. From the ...


6

From What does “user was removed” mean and why did my reputation change because of it? The reputation adjustment always occurs whenever a user is deleted, unless that user has cast a very large number of votes. In which case, deletion will be delayed so staff may consider preserving the votes prior to the deletion. The decision is at the staff's discretion ...


5

I love the idea of getting rid of low-quality questions that have limited utility for future visitors. Per our discussion in The Heap, closed low-quality questions are unlikely to help, and in fact just add to the clutter making it harder to find a good answer. It would be really great if we could have only "open" questions, and a bunch of "closed as ...


5

For the opposition: Don't delete it. People are going to Do Dumb Things when they can. When they can't Do Dumb Things they want to do, they're going to try and find a workaround. Smart People™️ choosing to not talk about the Dumb Thing doesn't remove the incentive for N00bz™️ to do the Dumb Thing. There's already precedent on this network for deleting ...


4

I'll share my thoughts on discussion points 4 and 5: For those of you with the power to vote to delete, what stops you using these votes? Any other concerns? I want to spend most of my time on the main site answering questions instead of doing administrative tasks. I feel that my experiences with SQL Server allow me to answer questions that ...


4

Adding this as a point of view (not necessarily mine) to allow people to vote on it: Closed questions with answers should be preserved because there is a chance that the answer might help someone else someday. If the question isn't hurting anyone, why not let it be, and save the effort involved in deleting?


4

I'm not sure which question you are talking about, but both your previous question have an upvoted and accepted answer. From the help center Why and how are some questions deleted? Users can delete their own questions if the question: has zero answers only one answer, but that answer has no upvotes So you can't delete your question yourself ...


3

Since there were no objections, I have now completed this work manually. Future rejected migrations will be handled (mostly) automatically. Starting this coming weekend, these should be deleted automatically 30 days after being rejected. Note that this logic will only delete a rejected, migrated question if it meets the following criteria: ...


1

This doesn't seem to be an "example of scenarios we as DBAs work hard to prevent". It is most likely an example of a person having not a slightest idea what he/she is doing on a local workstation; there is no indication of "any remote access to servers" in that question. So no, the question doesn't seem to be worth saving.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible